Thursday, September 25, 2014

MSMS Faculty Member, Suzie Kardon-Edgren, Will Present a Webinar on NCSBN Simulation Study Findings - October 1, 2014

MSMS faculty member, Suzie Kardon-Edgren, to present a webinar on NCSBN Simulation Study Findings next Wednesday, October 1, 2014 from 1-2pm ET.  For more information or to register for this event please visit:

Webinar NCSBN Simulation Study Findings with Suzie Kardon-Edgren, PhD, RN, ANEF, CHSE (on behalf of Jennifer Hayden, MSN, RN)

Date: Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Time: 1 - 2 p.m., ET/ 12 - 1 p.m., CT/ 11 a.m. - 12 p.m., MT/ 10 - 11 a.m. PT

Session Description: 
The purpose of this activity is to enable the learner to discuss the findings from a multi-year, multi-site, randomized, controlled study of the educational outcomes when simulation is used to replace traditional clinical hours throughout the undergraduate nursing curriculum. Providing high quality clinical education experiences for nursing students is a challenge for nurse educators worldwide. An international nurse faculty shortage, along with competition for clinical sites, high patient acquity, and short hospital stays make it difficult for students to obtain good educational experiences. Educators have turned to high fidelity patient simulation as one solution to the perennial challenges of clinical education. Program administrators and faculty have witnessed the benefits of this teaching pedagogy and are interested in using simulation to replace a portion of their clinical hours with simulation, but the research literature has not addressed the end of program outcomes achieved when simulation is used as a clinical replacement throughout the curriculum.  This was the largest, most comprehensive study to date examining the use of high fidelity simulation in the undergraduate nursing curriculum. Educational outcomes of clinical competency, nursing knowledge and new graduate nurse readiness for practice will be discussed.
Session Objectives:
  • Describe the methods used throughout the simulation study
  • Discuss the study findings and the implications for nursing programs when 25% and 50% of clinical hours are substituted with simulation

No comments:

Post a Comment